Updated at 10:00 am on 01/10/2005
New Zealand Election 2005 

Official Count Results -- Dunedin South

This is not the formal declaration of results.
The Chief Electoral Officer declares the results of the official count by publishing a notice in the NZ Gazette.
Electorate Number:11 Final:Yes
Polling Places Counted: 67 of 67 (100.0%)  Votes Counted: 35,746
Winning Candidate:BENSON-POPE, David Henry (LAB) Majority:10,640
Parties Candidates
Labour Party 20,348 BENSON-POPE, David HenryLAB20,033
Destiny New Zealand 128 DAGLISH, BrentDNZ400
Alliance 52 FORD, ChrisALL189
New Zealand First Party 1,563 HEWARD, Alan NZF1,145
United Future New Zealand 879 MOFFAT, PaulineUFNZ795
National Party 9,692 POWELL, ConwayNAT9,393
Green Party 1,926 THOMLINSON, PeterGP2,200
Jim Anderton's Progressive 500 VAUGHAN, MartinJAP672
   WANSINK, RobertRATC91
ACT New Zealand 266 WILDEN, Alan ACT228
99 MP Party 4    
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party 90    
Christian Heritage NZ 35    
Democrats for Social Credit 30    
Direct Democracy Party 8    
Libertarianz 8    
M‚ori Party 77    
New Zealand Family Rights Protection Party 4    
OneNZ Party 6    
The Republic of New Zealand Party 3    
Party Informals127 Candidate Informals 398
TOTAL 35,746 TOTAL  35,544

Copyright ©2005 New Zealand Ministry of Justice,
Chief Electoral Office, Wellington
All Rights Reserved